## **RESOLUTION NO. 2018-105**

A RESOLUTION OF THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF ROHNERT PARK AMENDING RESOLUTION NO. 80-214 CHANGING SENIOR CITIZENS ADVISORY COMMISSION MEMBERS' TERM OF OFFICE FROM TWO YEARS TO FOUR YEARS, ADJUST THE TERMS OF OFFICE OF EXISTING MEMBERS, AND MEETING FREQUENCY

WHEREAS, the City of Rohnert Park City Council adopted Resolution No. 80-214 establishing the Rohnert Park Senior Citizens Advisory Commission ("Commission") and set forth the Commission's structure and function; and

WHEREAS, City Council Protocols Section XI.A.2. states "For City commissions, committees, and boards with five (5) members, each councilmember shall be entitled to appoint one member;" and

WHEREAS, on August 8, 2017, the City Council of the City of Rohnert Park directed staff to implement a four year term of office that coincides with the appointing councilmember's term of office for all City commissions, committees, and boards; and

WHEREAS, this resolution is intended to change the terms of office for existing and future commission members of the Senior Citizens Advisory Commission so that they coincide with the appointing councilmember's term of office.

WHEREAS, this resolution is intended to reflect the Commission's current practices of setting at least one (1) regular meeting every four (4) months.

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED** by the City Council of the City of Rohnert Park as follows:

**SECTION 1.** The terms of office of the current Senior Citizen Advisory Commission members shall be modified as follows:

- A. Ms. Elaine Sampson: Ms. Sampson's current term of office will expire in December 2018 and will remain unchanged.
- B. Caryl Sherman: Ms. Sherman's current term of office, which is set to expire in December of 2018, will be extended by two (2) years to December 2020.
- C. Lorreen Abbott: Ms. Abbott's current term of office, which is set to expire in December of 2018, will be extended by two (2) years to December 2020.
- D. Cheryl Burton: Ms. Burton's current term of office, which is set to expire in December 2018, will be extended by two (2) years to December 2020.
- E. Nancy Garvey: Ms. Garvey's current term of office will expire in December 2018 and will remain unchanged.

SECTION 2. Section 2 of Resolution 80-214 is hereby amended in its entirety to read as follows:

"2. Term of Office of Members. The term of office of all members of said commission shall be four (4) years. Each member shall serve at the pleasure of the City Council."

SECTION 3. Section 4 of Resolution 80-214 is hereby amended in its entirety to read as follows:

"4. Officers of the Commission. The Rohnert Park Senior Citizens Advisory Commission shall select one of its member as Chairperson and one of its members as Vice-Chairperson whose terms of office for said position shall be one year."

SECTION 4. Section 5 of Resolution 80-214 is hereby amended in its entirety to read as follows:

"5. Meetings of the Commission. The Rohnert Park Senior Citizens Advisory Commission shall establish a regular time and place of meetings and shall hold at least one (1) regular meeting every four months. Special meetings of the Commission may be called at any time by the Chairperson, or by any three (3) or more members of the Commission, by providing notice of said meeting as required by law."

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED by the City Council of the City of Rohnert Park on this 24th day of July, 2018.

CITY OF ROHNERT PARK

Pam Stafford, Mayor

::

ATTEST:

JoAnne M. Buergler, City Clerk

JoAnne M. Buergler, City Clerk Caldanha, ASSIStant City Clerk

AHANOTU: ADENTE: AME MACKENZIE: AME CALLINAN: AME STAFFORD: AME AYES: (Y) NOES: (O) ABSENT: () ABSTAIN: (O)